McCarter Theater’s 2011-’12 theater season includes, for the first time, three world premieres, including one from theatrical giant, John Guare, and one from America’s rising star playwright, Danai Gurira.

Drama

Ten Cents a Dance. Tony Award-winning director John Doyle brings his trademark twist to the Rodgers and Hart songbook with “Ten Cents A Dance,” a stylish new production with a cast that doubles as the orchestra. September 9 through October 9, 2011 (Berlind Theater).

Phaedra. World premiere by Marina Carr, one of Ireland’s leading contemporary playwrights. October 18 through November 6, 2011 (Matthews Theater).

The Convert. A new play by US-based Zimbabwean actress and playwright Danai Gurira. Set amid the colonial scramble for southern Africa in 1895, “The Convert” tells the tale of Jekesai, a young girl who escapes from a forced marriage by becoming the newest convert of a well-meaning black catechist for the Catholic Church. January 13 through February 12, 2012 (Berlind Theater).

Travesties. Tom Stoppard’s classic comedy, directed by Sam Buntrock. Mix one part Wilde, a touch of Lenin, a dash of Dada, and a pinch of Joyce for a dazzling medley of literature, philosophy, politics, and history. March 13 through April 1, 2012 (Matthews Theater).

Are You There, McPhee? A world premiere by master American playwright John Guare (“House of Blue Leaves,” “Six Degrees of Separation”) who takes us on an epic and suspenseful ride in his newest play. Trapped in a house with a mysterious past, Edmund Gowery knows the only way to escape is to change his life — he just doesn’t know how. May 4 through June 3, 2012 (Berlind Theater).

Presenting Season

Cabaret

Tyne Daly, Saturday, October 22, 2011

Jane Monheit, Saturday, February 18, 2012

Christine Ebersole, Saturday, March 17, 2012

Florence Henderson, All the Lives of Me: A Musical Journey Saturday, April 14, 2012

Jazz

SF Jazz Collective: The Music of Stevie Wonder, Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Cuban Keyboard Colossus: Chucho Valdes and his Afro-Cuban Messengers, Friday, January 20, 2012

The Overtone Quartet: Dave Holland, Jason Moran, Chris Potter & Eric Harland, Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Herbie Hancock, solo piano, Monday, March 26, 2012

Dance Series

Soledad Barrio & Noche Flamenca, Saturday, January 28, 2012

Contemporary Dance from Canada: Edouard Lock’s La La La Human Steps, Tuesday, February 14, 2012

New York City Ballet Moves, Tuesday, April 24, 2012

State Ballet Theatre of Russia, Romeo and Juliet, Saturday, February 4, 2012

Ronald K. Brown’s Evidence: A Dance Company, Friday, March 2, 2012

Paul Taylor Dance Company, Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Music Series

Joint Recital: Christian Tetzlaff, violin, and Lars Vogt, piano, Tuesday, October 25, 2011

The Tallis Scholars, Peter Phillips, director. A Program for the Christmas Season, Monday, December 12, 2011

Yundi, piano, Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Andras Schiff, piano, with members of the Salzburg Marionette Theate, Friday, May 4, 2012

Vivaldi’s the Four Seasons: Fabio Biondi and Europa Galante, Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Joint Recital: Vladimir Spivakov, violin, and Olga Kern, piano, Thursday, February 16, 2012

The King’s Singers, Monday, March 19, 2012

Emanuel Ax, piano, Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Signature Events

Audra McDonald, Thursday, October 6, 2011

Mary Chapin Carpenter, Saturday, October 8, 2011

No Reservations: An Evening with Anthony Bourdain, Monday, October 24, 2011

Penn & Teller, Monday, November 7, 2011

Mariza, Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Bela Fleck & The Flecktones with original member Howard Levy, Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Yamato, Japanese Taiko Drum Ensemble Thursday, November 10, 2011

Jake Shimabukuro, Uber-Uke, Monday, December 19, 2011

Soweto Gospel Choir Saturday, February 18, 2012

Peking Acrobats, Sunday, February 26, 2012

Australia’s National Circus, Circus Oz, Saturday and Sunday, April 7 and 8, 2012

David Sedaris Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Pilobolus, Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Henson Alternative’s Stuffed and Unstrung, 80 Henson Puppets/6 Comedians/100 Percent Uncensored, Saturday, April 21, 2012

Hal Holbrook in Mark Twain Tonight!, Friday, May 11, 2012

The Spencers: Theater of Illusion, Friday, May 18, 2012

Purchase single tickets, subscribe or renew online at www.mccarter.org, call 609-258-2787 or visit the box office at 91 University Place.

Facebook Comments