On Monday, April 28, the IEEE Sarnoff Symposium returns to the Nassau Inn to showcase an array of telecom experts from industry, universities, and government. First launched in 1978, the symposium has grown into a major forum for researchers, engineers, and business executives in the northeast, drawing an attendance from all over the world.

The symposium runs until April 30 and features two days of tutorials, student paper poster presentations, executive panels, and exhibitions. Keynoting the event is Richard Lynch, executive vice president and CTO of Verizon, who will present, “Investment, Invention, and Innovation: The Role of Communications in the 21st Century Economy on Tuesday, April 29, at 9 a.m.

Prior to taking over as chief technology officer last July Lynch served as executive vice president and CTO for Verizon Wireless. Before that had held the same position at Bell Atlantic Mobile since 1990. He also is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers.

Mike Timar, director of product development at Panasonic, and Dipankar Raychaudhuri, director of Rutgers’ WINLAB wireless technology center will also be on hand.

The symposium’s technical sessions kick off at 10:15 a.m. on April 29 and feature “Cognitive Radios,” “Modulation and Coding,” and “Ad-hoc Networks.” After commercial and military panels at 2 p.m., the technical sessions resume at 3:45 with “Network Managmement/Cross Layer,” “WLAN, and “Resource Allocation.”

“RF Electronics” kicks off the technical sessions on Wednesday, April 30, at 8 a.m. Wednesday’s sessions also include “Modulation and Coding II and III,” “Packet and Streaming Techniques,”Smart Antennas/MIMO,” “Communication Theory I and II,” “Invited Session on Security,” “Optical Communications,” “Microwave Antennas and Electronics,” and “OFDM Systems.”

The technical sessions coincide with several tutorials, including “Security and Co-operation in Wireless Networks” by Panos Papadimitratos of EPFK in Switzerland; “Iterative Receiver Design” by Henk Wymeersch of MIT; “Heterogeneous Network Mobility” by Anthony Chan and Yoshihiro Ohba of Huawei Technologies and Toshiba America Research, respectively; “International Allocation for the Electromagnetic Spectrum: How does Wireless Telecom Get What it Needs?” by Elsa Garmire of the U. S. Department of State; “An Introduction to Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplex Technology” by Roger Tricinelli and Walt Strickler of Keithley Instruments; “The Art and Science of UWB Antennnas” by Hans Schantz of Q-Track, “Advances in Automatic Modulation Classification Techniques” by Octavia Dobre of Memorial University of Newfoundland; and “Optical CDMA: Fundamentals, Developments, and Applications by Wing C. Kwong of Hofstra University.

Facebook Comments