Mercer County Community College is offering classes this summer that allow the opportunity to brush up on some essential workplace skills.

The MCCC Center for Continuing Studies (CCS) has a number of noncredit career training courses with flexible evening and weekend hours at the college’s West Windsor campus.

For those in the nonprofit world, the new course, Starting a New Nonprofit, will run from Wednesday, June 20, to Wednesday, July 25. Issues discussed include launching a non-profit, financing, marketing, and fundraising.

The Business and Management Division will offer a new class, The What and Why of Intellectual Property, taught by Cherry Hill attorney Dennis J. Helms, who specializes in protection and licensing of intellectual property. The course, running from Tuesday, June 5, to Tuesday, June 19, provides an overview of the components of intellectual property and explains the benefits of each.

Also new this summer is American Sign Language II, from Monday, June 25, to Wednesday, July 11. A follow up to ASL I, the class is for those looking to further develop their skills into becoming an interpreter.

For those with love animals, the CCS is offering an Animal Cruelty Investigator class from Saturday, July 28, to Saturday, September 15.

Also available is a seven-session course on becoming a state certified Animal Control Officer from Saturday, June 9, to Thursday, June 21, and a four-module Veterinary Assistant Certificate Program, which has an information session on Thursday, August 23, at 5:30 p.m. in MCCC’s Conference Center.

Various test preparation and review courses are also offered, including a class for the GRE from Tuesday, June 26, to Tuesday, July 31; and Accuplacer from Saturday, July 14, to Saturday, August 25. Anyone interested in taking an LSAT prep class should E-mail langanr@mccc.edu.

“Mercer is a valuable alternative to the other test prep courses that are available,” says Read Langan, CCS assistant director. She adds that low cost and convenience are among the reasons for students to choose to take review classes at MCCC.

Also available during the summer are two-day sessions on How to Become an Effective Substitute Teacher, offered on Monday, July 9, and Thursday, July 12, and Saturday, July 28, and Saturday, August 4.

For more course information, including registering for career courses and certificate programs, contact the Center for Continuing Studies at 609-570-3311 or visit www.mccc.edu/ccs.

Facebook Comments